Returning to this space

It has been so long since I wrote here. Over two years. I have been writing, of course, just not here. And in my sleepy state last night, I came here and realised this public journal is full of so many of my experiences and I am grateful I could log them here.

Writing has always been my way of being present, witnessing myself and others in this world and sometimes I wonder about this urge to share. I recently pulled out my old diaries and journals. Many of those writings, letters and notes never make it to the public domain and with good reason. But so much of writing is therapeutic and holds me when times feel difficult.

I discovered this beautiful note on heartbreak today and wanted to log it here:

Heartbreak asks us not to look for an alternative path, because there is no alternative path. It is an introduction to what we love and have loved, an inescapable and often beautiful question, something and someone that has been with us all along, asking us to be ready for the ultimate letting go.

David Whyte, Consolations

Read or listen to this book. It’s a beautiful reminder of friendships and heartbreak. A reminder of all the many selves we inhabit and all those we encounter as we continue to navigate this world.

You can write too...