Home » Daily post » 324 of 365

324 of 365

Circle of life

I made the same promises

as the year drew to a close;

cut myself some slack,

try unusual things,

and travel more.

But,

I carry with me

those known fears,

familiar wounds of the past,

heavy and loaded hopes, desires and dreams

that weigh me down,

similarly,

the niggling thought that: some things don’t last.

With expectations to the brim

A refreshing year is to begin;

But I seem to have ran a great circle

and met myself at the start.

Familiar scenery,

repetitive incidents

and glorious love affairs

have sturdy roots that are never gone.

‘But what is new about this year?’

the years passed question.

I have no answer

as I pin my hopes

on the unknown.

Though,

what could possibly change

when my habits won’t.

4 thoughts on “324 of 365

  1. Metamorphosis is seen only in butterflies, when the one who goes in and the one who emerges from the cocoon are different personalities. Why would you try such a drastic change in yourself?

    Do it, little by little, day by day. No one would notice, not even you, but you’ll change. For good.

    Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Hoping for the unknown is good, much better than hoping for the mundane.

    Uncertainty is beautiful, believe me it shows sides of you that you never knew existed.

    Habits? They are just a part of live. May be the things apart from it will change. We just have to wait and watch 🙂

You can write too...

