Home » Daily post » 299 of 365

299 of 365

I hate the word normal. I didn’t realise how much I hated it until I heard it too many times. And, till it was pointed out to me of course. It is an ordinary word that really, truly means nothing. What is normal for me is hardly normal for others? Coincidentally, one might find people who’s ‘normal’ radars fall on along similar lines. But that doesn’t happen often, I assume.

Normal doesn’t cut it. Normal doesn’t fit it. It is a loose word thrown around that means nothing. From being indifferent about it, I have realised I need to be cautious about its random usage. Normalising any behaviour leaves space for negligence and callousness. Neither I wish to entertain. At this point.

Somehow ordinary doesn’t make me half as agitated. Though it has a similar ring to it. An undertone of acceptance and submission clouds both the words. But normal fares worse. Much worse.

 

4 thoughts on “299 of 365

  1. Contrary to your observation, I think it’s ordinary that sounds negative and is rarely used in a positive connotation. Normal on most occasions conveys a everything is good kinda situation.

    • Maybe. But I feel both normal and ordinary are not legit terms to describe anything. At least I feel like they create a standard or demand a status quo. 🙂

You can write too...

