Home » Daily post » 240 of 365

240 of 365

When she met people for the first time, she was always nervous; she ruffled her short, messy hair before she walked into the coffee shop.

The helmet had made it oily and flat. She hated that style. She preferred the mad look it always had. She searched the coffee shop for him. She almost crashed into the really clean glass on her way in. She spotted him seated alone at a table fiddling with his phone. Should I say hello or just sit down at that table, she thought.

She just walked up to the table he was seated at and sat down. She chair made a nasty creak as she pulled it close to the table.

He must have recognised her from her photo as he didn’t look surprised. He put his phone aside.

“I was just going to text you. You were last seen on Whatsapp this morning at 1 something. Who were you talking to?”

Snap! I heard myself lose it.

“This is the first time we meet face-to-face and that is the first thing you want to ask me?”

“It has been bothering me since I woke up this morning.”

“That I was awake at 1?”

“Yea.”

“I hardly know you, Ramesh. I agreed to meet you cause I thought this was going well. I no longer think so. Good bye and good luck.”

She walked out. The door slammed behind her. He sat in his chair staring at the closed door.

She walked back in.

“Couldn’t resist?” he asked, all smiles.

She sneered at him, picked up his phone and tried to unlock it. Luckily for her, he didn’t have a swipe lock. She looked for the contacts list and deleted her number.

“Poof! Just like that I am out of your hair. No need to spend any more hours wondering what I was doing awake.”

She walked out again; this time with class and shutting the door gracefully. She will never let Neena set her up again. She seemed to associate with a new kind of idiot. The kind that used technology to stalk inappropriately!

 

 

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda

10 thoughts on “240 of 365

You can write too...

