Home » Daily post » 224 of 365

224 of 365

We were in love. But we weren’t the only ones. Everyone was in love with the idea of us too. We kept getting advice on ‘How to make it work?’ He loathed advice; such advice ticked him off further. So he resisted listening. He asked me to dismiss it too. But I told him that it wasn’t so easy. We weren’t the only ones in it. He glared at me and marched out of rooms. The audacity that I include others in our somewhat private, somewhat public love affair! But it was the filthy truth. They, men, women and children, were involved. Not just without our consent but without our knowledge. They judged when we fought; they argued on why we fought. They watched our love grow, too. They gossiped about the bedroom secrets. So when our love affair ended abruptly, like mine so often do, they continued to be a part of it. As unwelcome, unwanted guests.

It wasn’t just our relationship. What happened in that relationship wasn’t even the same for both of us. The others drew their conclusions, made their assumptions and retained their side of the story. A story that wasn’t enriched with what happened behind closed doors and within our minds. It was a popular tale that they wished to spread from willing ear to unwilling ear.

So, I wasn’t wrong when I had included them in it. For their version would be the one remembered despite his resistance and my submission.

6 thoughts on “224 of 365

    • I meant.. I wasn’t wrong when I had included them in our relationship.. you know the outsiders.

      Thanks love ๐Ÿ™‚ :*

  1. A relationship, especially love should have only two people in it. Just two. You and him. Else, it is not a relationship and anything that is not defined is bound to end.

    Including others was wrong. And always will be wrong. But again, this is based on my experience ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I couldn’t agree more, Soum. But I fear increasingly that is not the way it works. Everyone is so busy poking their nose in everybody’s business that it tends to interfere in the relationship. And me being not so public about my feelings makes it tough to juggle their intrusions.. or assert what the truth was and is.

      But I get your sentiment. And protecting our relationship from others is often necessary. ๐Ÿ™‚

You can write too...

