Home » Daily post » 205 of 365

205 of 365

“Who are you? What do you do? What are you? Why do you do this?”

I genuinely don’t know what to say when someone asks me these questions. I mostly stared back blankly. I am not trying to be rude but i didn’t have answers. These maybe pointless questions to some and life changing questions to others. To me they are huge and I don’t have the answers yet. Rather I don’t have answers that I am satisfied with. Or they change periodically. I responded vaguely, followed by evasive maneuvers and poof, I was gone. But it doesn’t mean I am not pressured to find a way to concisely describe myself. Without feeling like something that is part of my core was left out. The likes of ‘Describe yourself in 50 words or less’ are the new age versions of the old aunties and uncles asking the questions with the piercing look. Either way, I end up sounding clueless and lost. I probably am both those things, anyway. So, it is fair.

Yet, the lack of concrete answers make me squirm.

 

 

4 thoughts on “205 of 365

  1. Self is something we can’t really start with, and if started, stop in 50 words, or sentences. Maybe books would fill up to accommodate each single person.
    And I think it is fair.

    Cheers,
    Blasphemous Aesthete

  2. Recently, I’ve been thinking about this. Of course there’s the thought of the self being a continuously evolving thing.
    But I also feel like every time I meet someone or do something, I’m sharing a part of myself with that person. And I feel like I’m leaving behind bits of my soul at every interaction. And with every leaving behind of a flake of my soul, who I am grows a little more.

    People who expect a concrete answer seem very lacking in imagination, to me. Or perhaps they are asking about something else. Something more determinate, than this continually-in-flux sense of self.

    • I agree. To me, apart from it evolving, I feel the need to not just know yourself but to make others aware makes it very difficult for me. It is a constant engagement for me to know. Public announcements make me wonder what it means 🙂

      P.s The leaving a part of you bit is so well put. 🙂

You can write too...

