Home » Daily post » 5 of 365

5 of 365

The lights went out. I scrambled around in the dark for a candle. I remember I had one somewhere in the kitchen. Ah. There it was. I lit it with my cigarette lighter and brought it back into the bedroom. I watched the wax drip as the flame flickered. I wondered why the sudden power cut. Usually, we only witnessed power cuts in the peak of summers. This was just another September evening. The flame almost went out. I hurried back to the candle and moved its position. It burnt well in that corner. I paced up and down my room restlessly. I wanted to get back to my book or even distract myself with a TV show. All of a sudden it was dark. The candle was blown out by the wind. I closed my eyes to breathe in the eerie silence and the darkness. I lost the need for the light or that distraction. I just sat on the floor and sang. Wide open spaces. She needed room to make the big mistakes, she needed new faces.

2 thoughts on “5 of 365

  1. Haha.. reminds me of how many times in life I’ve actually done exactly this.. just have a candle keep me company and sing to the night.

    Accha girlie some suggestions and observations:
    a. ” I scrambled around in the dark for a candle to light.”
    ‘to light’ is not required i think.. just till candle makes a cleaner sentence.
    b. “I remember I had one somewhere in the kitchen. Ah. There it is.”
    You’ve shifted tense. Your entire narrative is in the past so this needs to be corrected to
    “I remembered I had one somewhere in the kitchen. Ah. There it was.”
    c. “I lit with my cigarette lighter..”
    I lit ‘it’ or ‘the candle’ with my…

    I like the idea that your found your muse in the powercut 🙂

  2. ooo. I made the changes 😀 Thank you 🙂 I need to look closer for the tense. I keep messing up there 😦

    I am beginning to see that inspiration is everywhere. 😀

You can write too...

