Home » Daily post » One billion rising..

One billion rising..

Yesterday I read a post on the One Billion Rising written by a woman who didn’t agree with the movement (Read it here: http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/natalie-gyte/one-billion-rising-why-i-wont-support_b_2684595.html?utm_hp_ref=tw). I understand the need to be critical. But in my opinion the author in this particular piece is dismissive.
Initially I thought I was being defensive cause I attended the movement and I did follow it pretty closely. Heck, I was one of those people who tweeted photos from the dance.

Today, I read it again and I still feel the same way. I feel that she makes some very valid points about what upsets her about the movement. But with her tone and certain parts of the piece, she really threw me off. It urged me to question if in an attempt to be critical, we often alienate people. Which largely makes me sad.

In my humble opinion, I agree with some of her sentiments and understand even why she feels she doesn’t want to support the movement. And I respect that. But it doesn’t mean that the movement means nothing.

Even if it only means bringing to the forefront discussion on violence against women. To me that is a step in the right direction. Even if it is a teeny one.

[2 of 365]

You can write too...

